Posted in Loved It, paranormal, Young Adult

Something Strange and Deadly

20130819-210104.jpg

Teaser:

“Like Jie, I didn’t—couldn’t—avoid stepping on the corpses. My ankles and heels rolled and sank as we progressed forward.”

Author: Susan Dennard

Genre: Paranormal, Young Adult

Rating: L

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Eleanor Fitt’s brother is missing. And when she discovers that the Dead are rising in Philadelphia and wreaking havoc throughout the city, she knows that her brother is involved.

So Eleanor enlists the help of the Spirit-Hunters. This motley crew, hired to protect the city from supernatural forces, is after the necromancer who has been reanimating corpses. Their skills can save her brother. But as Eleanor spends time with the Spirit-Hunters, and their handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. Now not only is her reputation at risk, but her very life may hang in the balance.

For some odd reason, I had the hardest time grasping the concept that this book took place in the US. I don’t know why! Maybe I was subconsciously thinking about, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. This is definitely a zombie story. It is different from other zombie stories in that the thing causing the zombie-ism is necromancy rather than some disease.

I liked the author’s concept of magic. There are different forms of magic for example necromancy versus voodoo. People seem to be born with innate ability for different branches. Like many fantasy books though, necromancy is always very bad!

This book, in addition to being paranormal, is also part mystery. From the beginning of the book it becomes clear that the dead rising have to do some thing with Eleanor’s missing brother, but it is not clear what. It’s also unknown why the necromancer is awakening the dead. The author had a few red herrings thrown in there. There were a couple of characters that I suspected. I think I figured out who the necromancer was 3/4 of the way through the book.

I did like Eleanor’s character. She had a lot to deal with like poverty and disgrace of her sather’s past actions. Surprisingly, she was kind hearted and gracious despite all of it. The mother I could not like! As far as I am concerned she was trying to pimp her daughter out in a societally acceptable manner. I think I kept thinking this was set in England because of the whole impoverished lady having tho marry the wealthy gentleman.

Oh there was this one funny reference in the book to the Grecian bend. In case you were wondering, back in the 1820’s this stance became popular in the US. It was considered fashionable. A woman was supposed to have her butt poked out and her chest out and tilted downward. It was supposed to be enticing to men. As you can imagine, this stance worked well with the bustle, Well I tried the pose based solely on the description; I didn’t cheat and google a picture. Let me tell you what! My dog was watching me, and even she was giving me funny looks! It was so ridiculous! Not to mention provocative! I can’t believe people back in the day encouraged women,unmarried, to present themselves that way!

There is a second book called A Darkness Strange and Lovely. That review will be up next!

5 thoughts on “Something Strange and Deadly

Leave a Reply

