Posted in Loved It, Mystery

I’ve Got You Under My Skin

I’ve Got You Under My Skin

Author: Mary Higgins Clark

Genre: Mystery

Rating: L

Synopsis:

When Laurie Moran’s husband was brutally murdered, only three-year-old Timmy saw the face of his father’s killer. Five years later his piercing blue eyes still haunt Timmy’s dreams. Laurie is haunted by more—the killer’s threat to her son as he fled the scene: “Tell your mother she’s next, then it’s your turn . . .”

Now Laurie is dealing with murder again, this time as the producer of a true-crime, cold-case television show. The series will launch with the twenty-year-old unsolved murder of Betsy Powell. Betsy, a socialite, was found suffocated in her bed after a gala celebrating the graduation of her daughter and three friends. The sensational murder was news nationwide. Reopening the case in its lavish setting and with the cooperation of the surviving guests that night, Laurie is sure to have a hit on her hands. But when the estranged friends begin filming, it becomes clear each is hiding secrets . . . small and large.

And a pair of blue eyes is watching events unfold, too . . .

Bluestocking’s Opinion: There is such a funny story about how I bought this book. First off, I’ve never read anything by Mary Higgins Clark. Yeah, I know!!! I was in Wegmans a couple of weeks ago, and I noticed that they had all of her new books stacked up and people were getting tickets. I thought, “Surely Mary Higgins Clark wouldn’t be coming to a grocery store in NJ!” Sure enough, when I asked the store clerk, I was told that there was a book signing that afternoon.

Here are a few pictures:

20140422-230024.jpg

20140422-230043.jpg

20140422-230104.jpg

20140422-230118.jpg

20140422-230129.jpg

20140422-230145.jpg

Thankfully it wasn’t too crowded. Ms. Clark was very friendly!!! When it was my turn to get the book signed I asked her what she did when she had writer’s block. Her response was that she would re-write and re-write that section. She said writer’s block usually happens when you’re writing something that is not consistent either with the way the characters behave, etc. She said that if she was having a true block, there were two words that always snapped her out of it. ROYALTY CHECK. That was pretty funny, I thought.

This book reminded me a lot of the mysteries that Carolyn Hart writes. They are very clean reads. I’m not saying that the people in the books are saints, because they aren’t; but rather there is a lack of sex scenes unnecessary foul language. I did not figure out who had done it until the end. If there were clues on which to go, I totally missed them.

Anyway, now I’m off to read more of her books.

Leave a Reply

