Posted in Fantasy, Folklore, Rated E

Lindorm Kingdom



Author:    Amy Jane Helmericks

Genre:     Fantasy/ Folklore

Rating:     E

Synopsis:

What if your freedom came through the one who was meant to destroy you? 
The lindorm has more power in his dragon body than his human mind can reliably control. The strength that has kept him alive until now is growing into a liability. He’s running out of time to break his enchantment, and he doesn’t even know how to start. 
As a teenage single mother, Linnea endures cruelty and indignities to maintain her independence in a culture that only values the strong. When she tries to save a vulnerable child, her persistence irritates the wrong people and her jealous stepmother offers Linnea to them as lindorm bait. 
No one cares if Linnea will be an effective means to get past the dragon’s defenses, a strategic distraction, or simply its last meal. 
Linnea and the lindorm are expected to eliminate one another, but these two have never been good at doing what’s expected of them. 

Bluestocking’s Opinion:  This is a rather unusual book review for me.  Usually, I’m either sent books by the publisher ahead of the release date or I purchase them on my own.  Usually I have no involvement in the book.  The same cannot be said for Lindorm Kingdom.  I met the author (virtually met her) back in 2007 when I started this blog.  She had started this book in 2006.  I’ve gotten to review and critique a couple of the drafts.  It’s really something to see a work in progress for almost 8 years.  I hadn’t read a draft in a while, so I jumped at the chance to review the published book.  

I was very surprised.  This book has gotten better with every new draft.  I liked the direction the last draft I read was going, so I liked this direction even better.  This book is the first of a series.  There was a lot going on in this book.  I’m glad that the author is taking the time to flesh the various storylines out over a few books.  It was really fun seeing which storylines were kept and which were left out (or appear to be left out).  

I enjoyed all of the characters a lot better in this version.  I liked seeing the story from other people’s perspective.  In addition to the fact that it gave more insight as to the political machinations, it made the characters seem a lot more real.  

The only negative thing that I would say is that there were a couple of scenes I had a hard time visualizing as I was reading, but overall, I am looking forward to the rest of the story.  

Leave a Reply

